There’s nothing worse than unleashing a graphic photo and having the whole world gawp at it.
So praise be to Google for giving us a new superpower which will let us send intimate pictures to friends or family free of the fear that the rest of humanity will be able to feast their grubby eyes upon it.
It’s just rolled out a new update to Photos which will allow images to be sent to specific people.
Previously, you could share individual photos through the app by creating an album for a single photo and sharing the link.
‘But we’ve heard from some of you that this could be a simpler experience, so now when you share one-off photos and videos, you’ll have the option to add them to an ongoing, private conversation in the app,’ wrote Janvi Shah. product manager for Google Photos.
‘This gives you one place to find the moments you’ve shared with your friends and family and keep the conversation going. For me, this means I can show my mom and dad how my pumpkin pie turned out in just a few taps.’
Of course, you may want to do more than just flaunt your pumpkin pie.
Shah added: ‘Whenever I’m capturing memories, my first thought is to share them with my best friend, who loves seeing photos of my newest plants, or my parents, who always want shots of my latest culinary adventure.
‘Google Photos’ live albums, shared libraries, and shared albums make sharing lots of photos simple, and starting today, we’re also making it easier to share the individual, everyday moments through Google Photos.’
You will be able to ‘like’ photos or comment on them during a conversation as well as them adding them to your own albums.
The feature will roll out on iOS and Android over the next week. It will also be available to people using the web version of Google Photos in their browser.